Day 286: 4 Ways to Stretch Yourself

Standard

Go ahead and stretch.

“Beauty is unbearable, drives us to despair, offering us for a minute the glimpse of an eternity that we should like to stretch out over the whole of time.” Albert Camus

The cleaning lady on my hall is named Khun Wi.  She impresses me because she gets to work before me.  I leave home around 5:15 and drive the 30 minutes to work and find her already there cleaning away.

My daughter commented, “If I were a cleaning lady, I don’t think I’d come in like this.”  That was my opportunity.  No, it’s not true.  Your habits are the same regardless of what job God gives you to do.  If you are a hard worker, you’ll be a hard worker at whatever you do.  If you want to do an excellent job, you’ll stretch yourself and make it happen.

Do we stretch ourselves or are we lazy?  Here are a few ways to begin the stretch:

1. Have a goal.  Having something you’re working toward is stretching.  This daily post is my big stretch this year.

2. Be content. I love to see people who enjoy their jobs.  Everyone knows it, because they are pleasant to be around.

3. Do your best.  If you have to do the job anyway, why not do it well.  Watching Khun Wi put her whole heart into cleaning has been an inspiration to me all year.

4. Smile about it.  Though there are times I don’t smile, I really do love my job.  There is something to smile about.  Also, a smile makes us at least three times better looking.

Stretching requires reaching a bit beyond where you would normally reach.  The Bible says, “If someone forces you to go one mile, go with him two miles.” Matthew 5:41

In what ways do you stretch yourself?

2 responses »

  1. I always say to myself that God has put me where I am for a reason so I must do the best possible job no matter what it is.

    P.S. This is one of my favorite blogs and I look forward to reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

