Day 287: 5 Reasons I Love And Hate To Present

Standard

You're up next!

“Our work is the presentation of our capabilities.” Edward Gibbon 

I love and hate to present.  I find it surprising that many people report they fear presentations even more than death.  However, I do believe there is a certain good kind of stress that comes when we need to present something.

Starting young may be the best way to overcome stage fright, but I do believe that some presentation stress is still a good thing.  After all, stress gives us the motivation we need to do a job well.  A bit of stress helps us focus on main points and details.  It also challenges us to prepare well.

Today, I’m doing a presentation about Prezi and Glogster.  These are presentation tools in two very unusual formats.  Both of these tools are amazing, and I find myself passionate to share.  Whether or not I’m able to present my passion in a way that transfers to audience understanding is where the presentation comes into play.

Here are 5 reasons why I love and sometimes hate to present:

1. I have to prepare myself.  Making a presentation requires (or should require) a lot of thought and preparation.  This part I both love and hate, but it is needed for a good presentation.

2. I learn every time I present.  Presenting makes me relearn something, in a way.  My suggestion is that if there’s something you really want to know about, offer a presentation.

3. I enjoy meeting wonderful people.  This is the part of the presentation I love.  During conferences, I get to meet the nicest people.  By attending and by presenting, I find I have a great time networking.  If you want to meet more people, sign up to present.

4. I feel I’ve earned my keep after a presentation.  After a presentation goes well, I feel a sense of relief.  I feel grateful for the opportunity, and I feel I did what I should have for my company.  Presenting well sheds nice light on our organization.

5. I share about my passions.  If I share something I love, it always goes the best.  It’s hard to share a passion without getting excited.  When I get excited, I hope others around me will be doing the same!  If I believe in a product, I want to be its ambassador!

Do you enjoy presenting?  Is there a presentation you’d like to do?

Please leave a comment and share your presentation ideas.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

