Does What You Wear Tell More Than You Expected?

Standard

Are you feeling blue?

“The makeup is simply an extension of the personality and colors, clothing, makeup all express something.” Gene Simmons

In a rush, I threw on a black shirt and skirt and started heading for work.  Quite to my surprise, my husband commented that I must be feeling bad due to my choice of clothes.  After some discussion, I learned that he believes I wear certain clothes whenever I’m in a bad mood.

This completely took me by surprise.  I usually grab something standard and simple when I’m rushed, and perhaps being rushed does put me in a bad mood.  Maybe it’s true.

What do you think?  Are there certain clothes you gravitate toward when you feel a certain way?

I generally choose a white shirt when I’m feeling especially feminine and a black one when I plan to get dirty or present something.  I wear red clothes when I’m feeling spunky, and I guess I wear pink when I go to be a supporter.  Colors do have more meaning than we give them credit.

Here in Thailand, we assign a color for every day of the week.  The weekdays go as follows: Sunday=red, Monday=yellow, Tuesday=pink, Wednesday=green, Thursday=orange, Friday=blue, and Saturday=purple.  Interestingly enough, one of the retired people from our office still dresses every day according that day’s color.

I suppose that colors need to be given their proper respect.  So what color are you wearing today?  Are you blue?

Leave a Reply

