Day 291: Can You Hear The Bells?

Standard

Can you hear the bells?

“A bell’s not a bell ’til you ring it, A song’s not a song ’til you sing it, Love in your heart wasn’t put there to stay, Love isn’t love ’til you give it away!” Oscar Hammerstein II

We’re back in school today, and I can already hear the bells ringing.  Starting last night, a few students called and emailed about homework they didn’t understand, which they should have started last Thursday.  That is just the way with children and adults alike.  We don’t want to commit ourselves until we know for sure that the bell is going to ring, and we’re going to be held accountable.

Bells are used for many things.  They let us know when something is starting.  They draw attention, and they dismiss us.  Bells can be loud and annoying or soft and calming.  In general, I like bells.

Here are a few bells I love to hear:

1. Jingle bells around the neck of a horse pulling a buggy – That jingling of bells sounds like Christmas whenever I hear it.  Christmas signals wonderful and magical memories for me.  It is a time of year to rest, feel loved, and reflect.

2. A bell choir – I don’t sit near my sisters when there is a bell choir performance.  For some reason, things tend to go wrong, and we laugh– drawing attention to ourselves instead of the presentation.  When done well, bell choirs are amazing.  Here’s a fun bell choir performance I would have enjoyed seeing.

3. Church bells – When I went to university, there was a bell tower in the center of campus.  Each day at 4:30 the bells would ring outside my window making it impossible to study.  That’s when we would stop and eat supper.  One day, I had the wonderful experience of accompanying the man who played the bells for a concert.  I was taken to the top of the tower by a talented blind man who had been climbing the stairs of the library daily to play those bells.  From that day forward, I had a great appreciation of that bell tower.  Not long ago, I went back for a visit and heard those same bells playing at 4:30.  What a wonderful sound.

4. Chimes – The sound of soft wood chimes on a windy day can be relaxing.  Our neighbors had a nice set, and I welcomed that sound.

Do you have any good or bad experiences with bells?  Please leave a comment and share with us.

Leave a Reply

