Day 296: Brighten The Corner Where You Are

Standard

Brighten your corner!

“All the masterpieces of art contain both light and shadow. A happy life is not one filled with only sunshine, but one which uses both light and shadow to produce beauty.” Billy Graham

Today seems to be another sunny day and a day when we can share light with those around us.  For our family, Sunday is the day of the week we set aside to worship God and to spend time with our church family.  I like that my PostADay friend choses Sunday as Silent Sunday.  She posts a picture, but takes a rest from writing.

Whether sleeping or not, we benefit from a day of rest by recharging our batteries, which allows us to be more encouraging to those around us.

Whatever I do today, I’d like to include these three things on my agenda:

1. Say a nice word to another person when it comes to mind.  Sincere and encouraging words are free to give away, we just have to do it.  I’m not sure why my nature tends to hold back these golden words that can brighten the day of another person, but saying them actually blesses me just as much.

2. Think about the positive things more than the negative ones.  Seeing the bright side also makes me happier and more able to bless others.

3. Look for beautiful things.  Sometimes I carry my camera along because it makes me look for something beautiful or interesting.  When we look for the good or the interesting, we have a more positive outlook.

As you go about your day, remember the old hymn, and brighten the corner where you are!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

