Day 302: How To Tweek Your Brain To Notice Color And The Colorful

Standard

Look closely and you'll notice the true colors.

“The soul becomes dyed with the color of its thoughts.” Marcus Aurelius

We pass arrays of colors every moment.  Images bombard our brains, but we carefully select those we desire to see both for beauty and for survival.  Today, I’m suggesting that we make a slight change of habit in order to notice color.

Notice Color: It may take some practice, but if we tell our brains to pay more attention to color, we’ll find just that–more color.  The key to the process is focus.  Basically, we allow our brains to make random choices unless we give it an assignment.

Today, I took on the assignment of noticing color on the walls of the buildings around my house.  At first, they all seemed to blend together, but a closer look gave me the color palate I had overlooked.  In science class, we focus on colors and textures in mountains and in rocks in order to learn more about the historical story.  In life, though, we focus because noticing details sparks our creativity.

Notice the Colorful: The same kind of focus can change our though process.  We can let fear take over, if we focus on scary events in the news, in the media, and from the mouths of our neighbors.  Yet, with a purposeful change in brain assignment, we can change the way we think.  Today, for example, I’m assigning my brain to look for the colorful events in life in keeping with the theme of color.

The Bible tells us to look for eight things in order to stay positive.  “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.” Philippians 4:8

Why not focus on color and the colorful to give your brain some caviar for today?  Share with us how your thinking improves.

2 responses »

  1. I have found since doing my ‘postaday picture’ that I do notice things much better than before. I do think thought that I need to move into closer inspections now!

    • I agree that this postaday picture and post has been so helpful. I will stop on day 365, but it has stretched me so much, Julia. Also, Julia, you are just amazing in the way you stay on top of everything!

Leave a Reply

