Day 305: Am I Blue?

Standard

Am I blue or did I just like this door?

“Artists can color the sky red because they know it’s blue. Those of us who aren’t artists must color things the way they really are or people might think we’re stupid.”  Jules Feiffer

Not that I’m complaining, but I’ve had more time than I expected this week.  Because of flooding, our school was cancelled.  For me, unplanned rest usually results in–reflecting, creating, and planning future events.

On Sunday, our pastor talked about rest.  Though I like a little rest, too much of a good thing annoys me.  In an attempt to use my time wisely, I bought a creativity book and took pictures around town.

Why was I fascinated by this blue door?

Freud would have some ideas, and  maybe it does signify my present state.  When I have time, I like to reflect on three things.  Even though these thoughts may make me blue for a few days, they usually end in some sort of positive result.

Blue- Am I heading in the direction I’m supposed to be heading?  At least every few months, I like to think about goals and directions.  Am I moving toward a goal that makes sense?  Do these goals reflect who I am and move me in a direction that matches my values?

Blue- What goals am I working toward right now that excite me?  I like to think about where most of my time is going.  Does this time I use move me toward a goal that excites me?  Am I using the creative abilities given to me by God or am I doing busy work that isn’t necessary?

Blue- Am I doing what God wants me to do? How does my work point others toward Christ?  Am I wasting a majority of my time on activities that don’t point anyone toward God?  If so, how can I make some needed adjustments?

These questions tend to pop into my thoughts when I have time to rest.  What do you ponder when you have free time?

Leave a Reply

