Day 307: Three Ways Fish Improve Your Health

Standard

Fishing can keep you healthy!

“Let your hook be always cast. In the pool where you least expect it, will be fish.” Ovid

I spent a summer in the country working with a wonderful youth program.  As variety of activities began to diminish, we decided to get up early and fish in a neighbor’s pond.

The experience proved successful, and we came away with a number of beautiful fish.  I was most impressed with the guys who not only caught the fish, but also managed to clean them.  All of this excited me until they presented me with the clean fish to cook.

Suddenly, I felt intimidated.  Yes, I had cooked fish before, but was I sure I could produce an unplanned and delicious meal for these guys?  In that part of the world, it was a given that women could cook anything and that it would taste good.  Now, I had to prove my skills, though I was a college student, and I didn’t have much time to do it.

I quickly called the woman I most respected in the area making sure I was on the right track.  Knowing that this group of guys wouldn’t be satisfied with baked fish, I breaded the fish with salt, pepper and cornmeal and began a fish fry.

Today, I still love fish.  I eat fried fish on occasion if there is tartar sauce available, but I can eat baked fish several times a week and not tire of it.

Here are some healthy habits I’ve picked up related to fish:

Eat more fish. Not only is fish good for us, but these days it’s extremely easy to make.  First, we pick up fish along with some green onions, coriander, limes, broccoli, carrots, and rice.  To make the fish, we simply give it a bit of salt, lots of pepper, some lime juice, and a bit of butter.  We top it with chopped green onions and coriander.  This fish will cook in minutes in the microwave and still maintain its fresh look.  On the side, we’ll prepare the rice, carrots, and broccoli.  A meal made with fish will take only 20 minutes, which is the length of time needed to cook the rice.

Go fishing when you can.  Fishing is considered a sport in some places, but the kind of fishing I like uses a simple pole, hook, and worm.  Putting the worm on the hook empowers me, and I like the excitement of pulling the fish off the hook without getting finned.  Fishing requires me to sit quietly, look at the water, listen to nature, and relax.  With any of these missing, catching a fish is unlikely.  The activity of rest occurs while waiting to accomplish a goal.  That’s a healthy use of my time, and spiritual changes might even happen as a result.

Feed fish with the family.  Using leftover bread pieces to feed fish was an activity we loved doing when our children were small.  Just having the bread guaranteed that we’d spend some time at a peaceful park.  Our children loved to feed the fish and watch the water come alive.  A happy family improves our mental health.

Fish provide a pastime, a healthy food, and a way to spend quality time with the family.  So drop your line and relax.  You’ll find that fish can improve your health in several ways.

Leave a Reply

