Day 314: Please Don’t Watch That Clock

Standard

A clock doesn't need words or numbers to communicate in every language.

“Be pleasant until ten o’clock in the morning and the rest of the day will take care of itself.” Elbert Hubbard

Obviously Elbert Hubbard was not a teacher.  Yet, I agree that being pleasant will move the day more quickly, and we’ll arrive at the end of it much happier.

Today, I never could get a grip on the time.  Both wall clocks are showing the wrong time, and I’ve already shared with you why I don’t wear a watch.  That left me with the computer clock which should match the school bells.

We’ve been out of school for flooding in Bangkok and are in a whirl trying to get everything graded so that we can measure how well the e-learning worked.  The students have been so fantastic, working hard to help get everything reorganized.  Yet, several of them were eyeing the clock at break time, and my sweetest student walked quietly and gave me a smile when it was time for us to be at lunch.

That’s what I love about a wonderful bunch of children.  They want to help me, and they do understand our clock situation.  Though many of them are still working to learn to tell time, they do have an innate sense of lunch and break time.

I’d rather work along without a schedule, but clocks do intrigue me.  Here are a few questions I have:

Who came up with the direction of clockwise?  To me, it would make complete sense to run the clock the opposite direction.  Yet, a whole world follows the clockwise direction.

Isn’t it amazing that people all over the world can look at a clock and know the time whether or not there are any numbers or even anything other than hands on it?  Even in the most remote parts of the world, it would be hard to find a whole group of people who don’t understand a clock.  We need many different languages to learn how to say hello, but to know the time of day, we just need one picture.

Have you noticed how children have a different sense of measuring time? I laughed yesterday because one of my smart students insisted that there is no such thing as 3:oo a.m.  She was sure there was only a 3:00 p.m., which would be a while after lunch.  We never have 3:oo a.m. she argued.  It was a test, and I couldn’t tell her that she should choose the option that she is asleep at 3:00 a.m.   I guess if you never know it’s 3:00 a.m., then it doesn’t exist.  With children, I find myself saying things like, when the big hand is on the 11, it will be time for recess.  I used to tell my children that we will be there in about one Sesame Street.

Do you have a favorite clock or time of day?  Please drop us a line and share your clock experiences.

2 responses »

  1. Time is such a fascinating topic. It can be your friend but also drive you nuts when it is moving inappropriately for whatever you are doing. I love children’s approach. ‘I can’t see it /you/them so it doesn’t exist’. How simple would life be I wonder!

Leave a Reply

