Day 315: Giving Good Gifts

Standard

Someone gave us this unique gift.

“The greatest gift is a portion of thyself.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

Some people are gift artists.  They know how to choose a gift that holds meaning.  It’s true that those people actually have a gift of giving.

I, on the other hand, am much better at giving a piece of myself.  I usually show my love by doing things for others or by spending time with them.

Today, the mother of my student brought me a cold drink after school.  It was one of those amazing fruit slushies.  Honestly, it just hit the spot.  Right after that, a different mother gave me three small cakes which my daughter and I devoured when we got stuck in a long traffic jam.   It wasn’t a bribe as some might think.  These mothers just wanted to say thank you in some tangible way.  They gave something small so that I wouldn’t misinterpret their intentions, and I so appreciated their efforts.

Gifts can show little or much thought.  My husband gives great and thoughtful gifts.  My favorite gift is the gift of time he gives so freely to me.

What’s the best gift you’ve ever received?  Are you a gift artist?

Leave a Reply

