5 Reasons Not to Do The One Thing I Need To Do Today

Standard

Face that task with action!

“I have been impressed with the urgency of doing. Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Being willing is not enough; we must do.” Leonardo da Vinci

I need to preface this post by saying that I don’t like to procrastinate.  Yet, there is usually one big project on my back burner that I know I should do and have trouble getting started on it.

More than a year ago, I got this creative idea I wanted to put into action.  It stays in the back of my mind and worries me from time to time.  It would not take more than two days to get it accomplished, but I just can’t seem to get it done.  Why do I keep putting it off?

Today, I’ve at least got the calendar out trying to figure out a time to get it done.  Yet there are several things that keep me from it.

Here are five reasons not to get it done:

1.  I like to have something hanging over my head.  Actually, this is not true.  Why don’t I just get this thing out of the way so it won’t keep dangling around in my brain?

2. I perform best under pressure, so I’ll put it off another day.  This is another untrue statement.  While I tend to get ideas when I’m slightly pressed for time, my best ideas come when I’m relaxed and have a chance to refuel.

3. I need to clean the bathroom first.  This is true.  I try to find a million little things to do that will keep me so busy– I’ll never get to that one thing I should do.

4. I will have more things on my list if I get this one done.    While this is true, that doesn’t mean I need to put this project off.

5. I will be out of things to put on my “to do” and “to worry about” list when I lay my head on the pillow tonight if I do it today.  I do sleep better if I have a clean slate.  Each night, I go back through the day and make a mental list of the little things left undone.  So, why don’t I get this thing off of my long-term list?

What are you putting off and for what reason?  Leave a comment and let me know!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

