Day 318: Solutions Are More Fun When They Explode

Standard

One way or another, we'll get this problem solved.

“It is better to light a candle than curse the darkness.” Eleanor Roosevelt

As a kid, I always thought it would be cool to see chemicals explode in the laboratory.  Though teachers know that it can lead to disasters, students find it exciting.  I wonder how we can come up with solutions to problems that are explosive?

I guess it’s our human nature to complain. Yet, we get little accomplished that way.  What if we made it our goal to think up solutions instead of complaints?

For example, instead of complaining about the dirty curtain on the stage, I could just take a bucket of soapy water and start cleaning it myself.  If I ruin the curtain, I suppose that would be an explosive solution, but most likely, I’ll get a clean curtain instead.

Finding solutions can be fun!  Most of the creatives give us ideas that change our thinking.  Here are a few of my favorites:

1. Think of a more exaggerated version of the problem.  Instead of thinking, “Wow, this is a super boring meeting,” use your time creatively.  Exaggerate the idea of boredom by thinking, “If I were in charge of this meeting, how could I make this meeting even more boring?”

2. Think of the opposite.  Instead of thinking, “He thinks he’s too good to talk to me,” think the opposite.  You might change your thinking by saying, “Oh, he probably knows that I know all of the America’s Next Top Model Trivia questions; he’s afraid I won’t want to talk to him because he never watches it.  I will be the good person and say hello first.”

3. Think of the problem as a simile.  Instead of thinking, “I don’t know how I’m going to finish all my work today,” use a simile to change your work into something more approachable.  For example, “That pile of papers is like an Earthquake from Swenson’s.  I can’t wait to dig into it.”  Yeah, I know that’s stretching it, but you get the idea.

All I’m saying is that there are ways to get around a difficult day that can still keep us smiling.  Thinking up these kinds of explosive solutions will at least keep us entertained in the process.  Am I the only one who talks to myself?  Share your explosive solutions here.  I always love a new one!

Leave a Reply

