Day 320: No Free Art, So Keep Painting

Standard

The brushstrokes give it character.

“It is not your paintings I like, it is your painting.” Albert Camus

There were no art classes in the school where I grew up.  Once, a lady came to town and offered classes open to those who could pay for them.  I watched and listened when students came back from those classes. I remember hearing that they had 60 seconds to draw figures without lifting a pencil.  It sounded exciting.

Being resourceful is a side-effect of growing up in a small town.  Two key factors allow creativity–time to think and limited supplies. When opportunities are limited, people become creative using what they have to make what they need.  This was my situation.

Not having an art class might seem sad to those who had them, but for us, it was normal.  Resources were limited, and essentials were emphasized.  Yet, as I’ve gotten older, I can see the benefits of a brain that aches to create without a formal instructor.  Just as I ran home and tried to draw without lifting my pencil, I can see that experimentation improves creativity.

There are times to experiment for our own growth and not for others.  The process is the important thing and not the product.  Yet, we often find that products improve because we play with resources.

My problem is getting started.  Because I’ve never learned to paint, my mind thinks that I’ve got to come up with a masterpiece in order to dirty the canvas.  That’s not how children go about it, though.  Their creative side flows easily.  I don’t think that most of them have any idea what they’re going to paint when they pick up the brush, but still they do it.

So, I have a dilemma.  A brush, paper, and paints have been sitting in front of me for days.  How will I start?  I’m open to suggestions.

4 responses »

  1. Close your eyes and think of a beautiful place that you have been in your life, or look back at an event you attended, remember a special moment in time, hold that image in you mind and begin.

    If you find yourself unable to do what you set out to do, turn it into and abstract painting. The colors of your feelings.

Leave a Reply

