3 Reasons Why We Should Handwrite That Letter Today

Standard

A beautiful letter from a lovely lady made my day...

“To send a letter is a good way to go somewhere without moving anything but your heart.” Phyllis Theroux

We fell in love before going to different countries on two-year job assignments.   Letter writing was a must since there were no emails or cell phones.  We still have those letters in a box.  They’re personal and passionate– a permanent love story.

I guess I could do the same with emails, but I rarely go back and reread them.  A letter, however, will stay in a drawer or a book where I might pull it out and savor the words many years after they were written.

Why should we handwrite a letter today?  Here are a few good reasons:

1. Taking the time to choose a card and to write from the heart shows we care.  While in Malaysia, I was able to spend an hour in an English stationery shop.  Moved to tears by some of the wonderfully written cards, I enjoyed searching for the perfect card and then adding my personal love letter.

2.  We’re more connected to letters we write by hand.  Of course we use our brains to type. Yet, there’s a greater connections between the brain and the hand when we form letters in handwriting. Essentially, we connect better with the words we write.

3.  We’ll be able to use our handwriting artistically.  Except for grocery lists, we rarely take time to write things down.   Here’s a chance to show off the beautiful penmanship we developed in grammar school.  Some are gifted at using their own style to encourage others with generous words and handmade cards.

Today is the day to blast back to the past.  Let’s open a drawer, find that favorite fountain pen, and write a letter with all of the  mush and gush we possibly can!  We’ll pour it all out there, cry for a minute, and seal it with a kiss.  I bet we’ll feel more romantic for having written it!

What is the most romantic letter you’ve ever received?

12 responses »

  1. My uncle and aunt wrote love letters to each other while he was working overseas for a few years. 30 years later, they found the pile of letters and read some of them to us. They were love letters with every bit of their love etched into the paper. I felt like I was stepping back in time to 1970 for just that moment. So romantic!

    I wrote a handwritten Christmas card yesterday and sent it to my cousin half way across the world. It felt much better to send it than an email!

  2. My uncle and aunt wrote love letters to each other while he was working overseas for a few years. 30 years later, they found the pile of letters and read some of them to us. They were love letters with every bit of their love etched into the paper. I felt like I was stepping back in time to 1970 for just that moment. So romantic!
    +1

  3. Great post! I m pretty lazy, but from time to time I write letters to friends & family (well, those ones who mean the world to me). I use special “letter paper” & a calligraphy pen.

    Greets

  4. Roger and I emailed each other during a summer apart. We had only been dating a few months and he was in Chiang Mai and I was in Kentucky. At the end of the summer I printed all of them and we have a box at my mom’s house full of our little love letters!

  5. After my mom passed away, I found her love letters she and my dad exchanged while both were serving in the Coast Guard and Navy during WWII. It was such a sweet reminder of their love for each other in those very difficult days of separation. They were so much in love and their love for one another was an example for me as I was growing up. I am so thankful for those letters. Makes me feel close to them when I pull them out and read them even though they’ve been gone for many years.

Leave a Reply

