Weekly Photo Challenge: Waiting

Standard

Waiting allows time to consider the plan of action...

“To stay ahead, you must have your next idea waiting in the wings.” Rosabeth Moss Kanter

After ten days of waiting, I found myself slightly frustrated.  An innocent bystander kindly asked when my baby was due, and I remember giving her a special look while answering, “Ten days ago.”  Waiting for an overdue baby is a frustrating event understood by those who have experienced it.  Yet, when our baby arrived happy and healthy, we knew that the wait was certainly worthwhile.

Waiting can be difficult but sometimes strategic.  Many of the best things in life come when we are waiting.

We can be productive while we wait.

1. Look for opportunities.  We had the privilege of knowing a wonderful couple.  Because of health reasons, they were delayed in our city.  They didn’t let it frustrate them.  Instead, they looked for opportunities to help those around them.  Watching this couple taught me so much about looking for ways to bless other people.  Waiting can be a perfect time to serve those in need.  

2. Work toward another goal.  When we know we have some time to kill, it’s best to learn a new craft or skill.  Usually, there are things we’ve been wanting to try but haven’t had the time for it.  A new challenge can encourage us as we wait.

3. Appreciate the present.  So many times in life, I’ve let the present pass me by because I was pining away about something in the future.  As I’ve gotten older, I’ve grown to appreciate the short time and moments we have to enjoy our family and our friends.  Life is more fun when we give attention to each person God sends our way.

Most of the time, I find that wait time decreases if I’m enjoying myself.  How do you spend your waiting time?

4 responses »

  1. We spent the 11 days following Asher’s due date enjoying coffee dates and a few last nights out with friends. That was not a fun wait (especially in the Indonesian heat!), but definitely worth it.

    • My husband snapped this picture with my dinky little camera this morning. Lots of fun things going on these days here in Thailand. Blessings to you and your family… We’re almost finished with this PostaDay Challenge!!!!

Leave a Reply

