Day 344: Why Tests Can Be More Fun Than Class

Standard

Find a quiet place to study; it's testing season!

“One of the tests of leadership is the ability to recognize a problem before it becomes an emergency.” Arnold H. Glasow

Today my daughter’s taking the ACT.  I remember it as if it were yesterday.  I was so unprepared that I didn’t even know that I should be concerned about it.  It reminded me of the many kinds of test we take throughout life.

I once watched my friend pant and stress during a very important test.  Then, he did something, which I never would have considered.  He got up and left the room and didn’t return.  What was he thinking?  I could hardly finish taking my own test because I was completely shocked at this response.

Needless to say, it wasn’t the end of his life.  He talked with the professor and managed to pass the class with a B.  Life is often that way.  The things that seem so important to us are not even close to the REAL important things.  It takes a few episodes of real life to finally understand when we are having a REAL test.

It’s testing season, and here are some of the tests I’ve actually enjoyed.

Final Exams – I have always loved finals week.  Schedules change, and taking the test marks its end.  Learning can be really fun, but completing a course is even more so for me.

Standardized Achievement Tests – These tests are meant to test our cumulative knowledge, which means we’re not really meant to cram for them.  It’s kind of fun to take them and to show what we’ve learned.  During school, I always loved these because we didn’t have to go to our regular classes during those weeks.

Competency Tests – I sometimes get to take a test to show that I know how to do a certain thing.  Besides the driving test, these are usually tests I enjoy.  I once had to take a test to show I know how to use sound equipment and how to swim.  The funny thing is that I passed both of them, though I don’t really know how to do either one.  In both of these cases, the best part about the competency test was that I didn’t have to go to the class any more.

Driving Permit Tests – I loved testing for the permit because I could read the book and pass it.   In essence, I could get permission to drive based on “book knowledge” without ever having taken a class to learn to actually drive.

You may think that I don’t like learning, but actually it’s not true.  I love to learn, but sometimes I don’t like class.  Often, a test can be even more fun.

Are there any tests you enjoy?

Leave a Reply

