Day 347: 4 Reasons For Celebrating

Standard

Have your cake and eat it too!

“Every year on your birthday, you get a chance to start new.” Sammy Hagar

Today, I’m holding on tight at  49.  With each birthday, I like to think that I’ve gotten wiser.  It’s not likely true, but there are surely some types of wisdom that have come to me simply by living another year on this good earth.

Here are a few of the things for which I am grateful:

Marrying well – Of the smart things I’ve done in life, the smartest was marrying my sweet husband.   He spoils me rotten and takes time to understand me.  If you are considering marriage, I’ll say from my long years of experience–be choosy.  A great spouse makes life more enjoyable.  Make sure you choose someone with whom you want to spend your best days.

Good Children – I couldn’t be more proud of my three children.  My son is about to graduate from the university I love so dearly.  My daughter arrived in time for my birthday and for bringing more smiles my way.  I laughed at my youngest daughter yesterday who said, “Why try something new?”  It never would have come out of my mouth, but was the exact statement I would have expected from her father in the situation.  Each of my children show characteristics of both my husband and me.  I love that they have managed to do life better than I did.

Improved Health – If ever we start to look at another person and boast that we are in good health, we should tread lightly.  One thing I’ve learned over time is that health is not a boasting topic.  It’s simply something to be thankful for when mine is good.

Yearly Goals – As a gift to my husband, I’ll not begin to discuss goals until the new year rolls around.  I’m certainly thankful that I’m close to completing two resolutions from this year, and I look forward to choosing some new ones next year.

Having made it to 49 years, I’ve much for which to be grateful.  God has blessed me, and I don’t take that for granted.  Several years ago, I heard a golden word from my doctor–“benign.”  Ever since that day, I vowed that I would not complain about getting old.  Life is a blessing for which I am thankful to God.  May we spend our days well.

5 responses »

  1. Do you know, I don’t think I’m grateful enough for my son. Oh, I am when it is his birthday and special days but I think that one (as well as the others) need to be considered much more routinely. Thank you for the reminders!

Leave a Reply

